5 Movies I Never Get Tired of Watching ~ 30 Day Writing Challenge #14

Oh movies! It has been my escape to reality, maybe extensively since 2010 (where I started a movie blog). There was the times when I think I knew all the movies (a.k.a the movie snob). But actually, there’s a lot of movies out there, with different genres and messages (not to mention the indie ones, and short movies). Up until now, I still think I know nothing about it. I love some movies, some I favorited maybe won’t end up on this post. I hope though I stand by with what I pick, because the most I’ve seen these movies approximately 4-5 times. Here it is :

1. Dead Poets Society (1989)

tumblr_n7j9405PLE1t5a3kqo1_500

I’ve seen it just 3-4 years ago, and I am sure if I have seen it on my teenage days, it would change my life. Seen it just recently, to recapture the inspiration and to remember Robin Williams, yes it still got the magic. Ethan Hawke on his early acting career, being the shy kid in class but probably the most gifted writer. I love it because Mr. Keating motivates us on pursuing dreams, being fearless and see the world as our oyster.

2. Happy-Go-Lucky (2008)

tumblr_muijz1tlxt1s39hlao1_500

Several posts before this post, I’ve mentioned how naturally we love being around a positive person. Well, I want to be around Poppy (Sally Hawkins) all the time. Poppy is one person with big heart, a positive person, so fun and easy going. Easy to be with, untouched with life’s harshness. At least, that is what she wants for her life. It’s hilarious seeing her with her cynical driving instructor.

3. Sleeping Beauty (1959)

movies-disney-film-feature-9Sleeping Beauty (1959) is probably the earliest cartoon I’ve seen. I remembered watching it before I go to school/kindergarten (forgot). The fairy tale actually settles in my mind, the prince kisses the princess and when she wakes up, it proves that the prince is the love of her life. Then after 20 years, I saw my niece and nephew watching it over and over again, but I don’t mind. An epic animated movie, timeless.

4. Sex & The City (2008)

sex_&_the_city_movie

I can actually feel movie lovers are shouting ‘Boo!’ at me for picking this movie. But I am being honest. As much as unrealistic for a fashionable and shopping lover columnist, I found SATC to be resourceful for telling relationships at it is. While the sequel sucks, the first SATC movie is pretty emotional and a good feel-good movie. I guess I am pretty attached to the characters that I felt moved enough, and this movie gives good additional story for the series. And the great wardrobes adds up the points.

5. Julie & Julia (2009)

tumblr_lksp0txY141qdsma7o1_500Julie & Julia has encouraged me twice; to blog and to cook. Either way, it’s a great way to do something passionately. It’s not just about dreams, but also a great story about husband and wife. Julia Child as the role model of Julie Andrews, excellently performed by Meryl Streep and Amy Adams. It’s one of the movies with magic in it, especially because it was based on a true story and book, adds up the points. Seeing the cooking surely could inspire you to try a new delicious meal. And seeing the success story could inspire you to chase your dreams.

 

*************

What’s your version? Do you like these movies as well?

Published by

sunglow mama

Jakarta (Indonesian) based blogger, 33, loves beautiful things and to write about them

7 thoughts on “5 Movies I Never Get Tired of Watching ~ 30 Day Writing Challenge #14”

  1. I love the movies that you mentioned. Most of the ones I never get tired of are weirdly enough cheesy teen movies. Well, here’s a list: Cinderella Story, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, the Breakfast Club, Stardust and Penelope. I probably could think of a ton more, but those are the main ones.

    1. I love Penelope. As a matter of fact, I’ve watched it more than once and it is indeed a movie that I’d like to see over and over again. I too likes Nick and Norah, and Breakfast Club.

      Perhaps because they are light films, so it’s easy to digest. Thanks for your comment!

      1. That could definitely be the reason! So, I tried to think of a movie that wasn’t so easy to digest and that I still watched several times in a row, and the only one I could think of was Finding Neverland.

Leave a Reply

