John Mayer’s ‘Daughters’

No, John Mayer doesn’t have daughters (yet, that I know of). I am referring to his single, Daughters, which is probably my very most favorite song from him. I am not his best fan, or I don’t know if I like him outside his talent. But the man surely have musical gift.

I listened to his album Heavier Things in college and loved the album, but this song is the winner (it did won the Grammys later). I didn’t know what made him created this song, it was enough to love the song from the simple lyrics :

Fathers, be good to your daughters
Daughters will love like you do
Girls become lovers who turn into mothers
So mothers, be good to your daughters too

Lyrically, “Daughters” is an admonition to fathers (and to a lesser extent mothers) to nurture their daughters in their childhood, because the relationship will affect their future relationships with men as adults. He uses his own troubled lover to illustrate his belief. (wikipedia)

Funny how you loved a song way before you realize the connection to you is stronger each year. When I listened to the song first time, I was away from my family and missed them. Then the peak moment I cried listening to this song was when my father died. And now, (If God’s willing and all is well) I’ll be a parent. I’m not exactly the girl with the daddy issue John Mayer described in this song, but I love my father. He wasn’t perfect, but he’ll always be my Dad.

This lyrics towards the end of the song also a message for men :

On behalf of every man
Looking out for every girl
You are the god and the weight of her world

So, men be good to your women too 🙂

Any thoughts? Have a good day

 

Published by

sunglow mama

Jakarta (Indonesian) based blogger, 33, loves beautiful things and to write about them

2 thoughts on “John Mayer’s ‘Daughters’”

  1. I love that song!!! for the simple fact that it makes so much sense and it has so much truth in it 🙂

Leave a Reply

