Random Thoughts : Week 35 and Preparing Baby Stuffs

  • It’s getting closer to my due date and I am not getting lighter (it’s good but boy am I heavy, 70,5 kilos)
  • I may not as cranky as Rachel from Friends when she’s pregnant with Emma, but I could be. It’s fun reading funny pregnant Friends character quote

a26dfa0b271c186d434e84b91e5480e0

  • I really want to try this :

friends-phoebe_pregs

  • Meanwhile, I am getting overwhelmed with the baby stuff we should buy. I should’ve started a couple of months ago, but hubby said it’s too soon. Now I am getting crazy with the options; crib, baby clothes, pampers, and all the little stuffs. Don’t forget the stuff for the mom too.
  • While people in the West have baby showers, here they called it 7-months (7 bulanan). It’s like a celebration before the baby comes and people can also bring gifts. That would solve some problems gathering the baby stuffs, but my family doesn’t have that culture. It’s also not a common thing to register gifts as tempting as it is.

unexpected-movie

  • I just watched the movie Unexpected (2015), stars Cobie Smulders from How I Met Your Mother. I can see why people would find the movie just ‘okay’, but for mothers or mother-to-be, it’s a good drama. It is certainly better than Baby Mama or What To Expect When You’re Expecting. I don’t know why there’s so many crappy pregnant movies out there. Perhaps the pregnancy progress is too common they had to add some twist or crazy element to make the movie great according to them. Knocked Up has a good message of turning two singles to be parents, but they didn’t exactly have a good start. Juno might make teen pregnancy could have less drama, but they’re bad example for teenagers to copy.
  • Meanwhile, my yearly favorite event, Europe on Screen is starting and I can’t go. Midwife said that I shouldn’t take long walks and should do lots of rest unless I’ll have the baby too early. While mind is saying, ‘But whyyyy??’, body said, ‘Well, enough said. I’m lying down.’
  • The good thing is, this new place actually have lots of advantage. Aside from the air and close from family, many food carts passing by. Here, people sell with food carts and they walk in the neighborhood so people at home can stop them to buy. For a frequently-hungry-pregnant-woman, it’s such a great thing.

82da96a41a5dc5d008c2fda237495a87

  • What stresses me out is the idea that the baby could come anytime. When I’m standing in the kitchen, chopping or in the bathroom, or just take a walk, I can feel the tummy’s getting ‘uncomfortable’. And I haven’t got the baby stuff prepared altogether. Perhaps it’s nothing considering my relative could go buy some stuff as I am entering the labor, but still some preparations could be nice.
  • Also, the thought and hope that the labor goes well. And the baby is healthy.
  • Anyway, have a great weekend! What are you up to?
Published by

sunglow mama

Jakarta (Indonesian) based blogger, 33, loves beautiful things and to write about them

2 thoughts on “Random Thoughts : Week 35 and Preparing Baby Stuffs”

  1. Not long to go now – hoping you have a smooth rest of your pregnancy. And I haven’t heard of 7 bulanan before (I’m Malaysian)! I don’t know much about baby culture in the east though as I’ve been living in Australia for nearly 10 years now so most of my adulthood/parenting is all based here.

    1. I don’t know if Malaysia also have similar tradition, but yes there’s that tradition here though not all families do that. Thank you for the wish and comment 🙂

Leave a Reply

