This Year, This Ramadan…

It’s the last Friday of Ramadan. This Ramadan is totally different than ever. I didn’t do fasting because I am still on nifas (bleeding period after labor) phase and breastfeeding. There’s also an extra member in the house, usually it’s just me and my husband. To be honest after 2 years living just the two of us, it was getting predictable.

I think of Ramadan is one holy month where I can detox my mind and also my body. It’s kind of a significant month. But women who are pregnant and breastfeeding have priviliges not to fast until their urgency phase passed. I am grateful with these benefits. Taking care of a newborn really takes up everything.

This month also marks a year my dad passed away. Even though he’s gone, I know he is happy with me and husband finally have a child. For some reason he thought that we weren’t in a rush to have kids, and perhaps he was right. We just weren’t one of those couple who pushed and highly expected to immediately have kids. Our thoughts are que sera sera (whatever will be, will be). That makes the pressure less. 

Things are not ideal after my father passed away, and perhaps he’s sad knowing this. But I guess all happened for a reason and you can’t push it. I once prayed that my parents are still there when I have my kids, but you can’t always get what you want. Either way, I still feel happy with what I have today.

Who knows what happens next year? All I know is each year we keep growing and be better and better. 

Published by

sunglow mama

Jakarta (Indonesian) based blogger, 33, loves beautiful things and to write about them

One thought on “This Year, This Ramadan…”

  1. You are very strong and amazing woman. May Allah SWT protect you, your husband and your little baby.. May Allah reward you al magfira and reward your father the paradise
    Hope for you all the best sister
    SalamπŸ˜‰πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

