An Easy Life

This image I got from my friend’s social media who is a heavy filmholic. I only know that this is Jane Birkin. But her words (from a film I guess) got me thinking.

One phase in my life I put The Secret’s life recipe on my life, which is ‘you are what you are thinking’. And my wish was to have an easy life. I guess I thought I have a pretty ‘rough’ and ‘beaten’ life to actually wish this to happen. When really, I got life problems like anybody else. I just think that life was really hard. Maybe it did for me at that time.

But in the end, I got what I want. It was easy. In fact, it was safe and predictable. I started to wonder where is this fun I usually have. Where is this life’s butterflies and gravels on my foot steps. Why suddenly I just want to yawn with things in front of me. Everything seem so readable. 

And you can guess it, it was boring.

In life you have choices to make. If you think some people are dumb after getting hurt doing bungee jumping, that’s just the consequences. And it’s the same with choosing ‘an easy life’. You’ll have a pretty safe and predictable path, and it’s the consequences. 

Just to be clear, it’s up to you if you love that kind of road. In the end, you’ll be the one that can see if it’s working for you.

Whichever you choose, I hope you choose the most true for you.

As for me, everything was predictable until a hurricane came. But I chose that hurricane. Don’t worry, everything is beautiful after it’s all over. 

Published by

sunglow mama

Jakarta (Indonesian) based blogger, 33, loves beautiful things and to write about them

Leave a Reply

