Being Different

from Brightside FB

Ever been in a path in life that no one you know ever goes? I’ve had it several times and in my younger years, I wondered why. I think I was used to following other’s footprints or getting told what to do.

In my second year of junior high school, I was put in a different class than my gang. I wondered why. The previous class was the smartest class. My parents had me to be put to the smartest class again in the third year, because I was upset to be put there. Perhaps I was embarrassed with my other friends from that first class. 

But you know what? I was the happiest during that second year and I was the smartest in class (maybe not the smartest, but first ranked). I met and get to know other people, and they were fun. They made me the secretary of the class by insignificant coincidence. That’s why I get to contribute more than just regular student. When I got to the third year, I felt the pressure because it’s the smartest class. 

When I was in high school, my mother said I should choose science class for my major. I didn’t want to, but she said so I could have more options to choose my college. But I choose design for my college and had courses to pass the exam for it. It was surely a different path than other science students who wanted to be doctors or other science related field. It was weird. They usually looked me strange when I told my college interest.

 One of them was surprised with my choice and said, ‘Your science skill will be wasted’. But if I can play guitar, doesn’t mean I have to be a guitarist. Other said, ‘It’s hard to pass the college exam you want to.’ Yes, but I did got in. 

That’s just little stuffs about being different. It’s harder when it comes to career and love life. Of course being different was tough at first. People can look at you oddly. People question your choices or simply question you being you. ‘She’s odd’ or they shook their heads. Maybe they will laugh at you or underestimate you. But what do they know, really? Their words are words, and they will be forgotten the next day. They never walk the same path as you. 

I have a very different path today than what I thought I will have. Never in my mind I thought I would be a full time mother (and freelancer) and be with my husband. Never in my mind I thought I would look as feminine as today (used to be tomboy). Never in my mind I thought I would live away from my family. But life just keeps surprising you like that.

Does that mean my path is wrong? Does that mean I should do what’s expected? Does that mean I go mental? 

Who determines right or wrong? Who decides what is normal? Does it matter when people who walks their path are happy with their choices?

Every people have different path. Even their personalities are different. Why should we be all the same? Why can’t we go to the path we think is the most true to us? 

What is different doesn’t mean it’s wrong. What if the majority people who did everything wrong? 

*Just my rambling. Hope it’s a good read fr you

Published by

sunglow mama

Jakarta (Indonesian) based blogger, 33, loves beautiful things and to write about them

Leave a Reply

